Letting Go / Daisy among Roses

I had a craptastic day yesterday – Because the past came back knocking on the door.  I let it in. It has no place in my now.   I wish I would have read this yesterday….df

 

http://daisyamongroses.com/?p=379

Letting Go

March 28, 2012 5 Comments

Over the last five years, I have fallen in love with yoga and learned many lessons on the mat. There is one currently that I am being taught over and over. It has been said that you will experience something or hear a message repeatedly until you learn it. The Universe is is telling me and now in a louder voice than a whisper to LET GO.

At the end of each yoga class, the reward for working hard and to restore your energy is to lie in in Savasana or corpse pose. “Let go of anything does not serve you,” my yogi teacher, MyLinda says. The term corpse pose has always been a little erie to me, but recently it has taken on a deeper meaning or message to me and I think, “Am I going to spend a lifetime not being able to let go of certain things? Will going to my grave be the only thing that allows me to fully let go?  Is that why it is emphasized in this pose to let it go?” I don’t want that to be the reason why I finally let go. So, I am now spending time daily concentrating and praying about letting go of many things that no longer serve me, that never served me — You hurt me in my past. Why did you do that? Did I deserve that? What happened to me wasn’t fair — Staying in the past robs my present time and it hurts me most. You may think that you are punishing someone else because you won’t let go. You are punishing yourself far worse.

“Letting go is letting happiness in!” -Lori Deschene

What do you need to let go? We all have something that we need to let go to make room for happiness to take up more space in our lives. With the beginning of a new season, it’s the spirtual, soulful spring cleaning we all need inside.

It may be a friend or family member who “did you wrong” in the past. Whether or not they have aplogized, letting go still plagues you. It may be someone who is not able to apologize. They have already passed or are out of your life and you will never get your apology. Let it go. It does not serve you. It may be you. You made mistakes and bad decisions that you cannot let go. You made a mistake, but you are NOT a mistake. Let it go.

Every time I write a message or lesson, I receive a note from someone who says, “Thank you. I really needed to read that.” Know that I write all of my words because of my own challenges in life. I never want to be like Oz, who hide behind a curtain and facade. I am Dorothy who wandered from home, but eventually realized that everything she ever needed was right where she began.

Let go and live the live the fulfilled life you are destined to have.

About Debbie Forbes, LMT, CPT

Debbie has been a Licensed Massage Therapist (FL LMT MA16310) for over 18 years. Originally from the Chicago area, she moved to St. Pete in 1986. Her specialties are deep tissue, Lomi Lomi, Thai Yoga massage and Stress Therapy massage. She has traveled to Hawaii, the Bahamas, Mexico and various other places to study bodywork and allied modalities. She takes from her many years of experience and multitudes of classes to structure a massage based on your needs. Debbie is also a Certified Personal Trainer and Yoga Teacher. She believes that Integrative Systems, such as, Yoga, Massage and Personal Movement have been developed to guide us in this journey. An avid cyclist, Debbie travels around the country doing century and double century rides. She is a reluctant triathlete, cross fitter, occasional doughnut eater and is a USA Triathlon Official in her spare time.

Posted on April 4, 2012, in General Health Tips, Training Tips, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

