Put Some Butterflies in Your Belly.

image

You have heard the phrase, “feel the fear and do it anyway”.  I keep reading about challenges.  I’ve signed up for a few myself.  But as I was walking the mutts this morning, I realized that we do need to keep learning and do things on a weekly/monthly basis that keep us just a little bit nervous.

Yesterday, I did my first of a two day Basic Motorcycle Course.  Yeah, riding a motorcycle will put some butterflies in my tummy.  But, it is all baby steps. Hopefully by the end of today I will be a comfortable rider.  Today, I can ride one if necessary, but I’m not proficient in the least.  Driving a motorcycle isn’t something I am going to do on a regular basis, and quite frankly, I much prefer to be a passenger.  But it’s good to know.

So maybe another challenge is to do a Zumba class at your gym.  It’s free with your gym membership and maybe you think you can’t move your hips that way.  Guess what.  You can.  And just maybe you’ll fall in love with that class and end up in Argentina on a crowded dance floor doing the rhumba with someone tall, dark and handsome.  Or small, dark and beautiful.  The point being, you never know where a first step will lead you.

My BFF, Bean and I decided we wanted to go for a long bike ride.  3 years later, I ended up in Land O Lakes, because that first step of signing up for a bike ride in Tuscon, changed my life.

Check out the local community center for classes.  Log on to the Omega Institute, Kripalu or something similar.  Check out Backroads or Butterfield & Robinson.  Explore.  Go forth.  Rock on….

About Debbie Forbes, LMT, CPT

Debbie has been a Licensed Massage Therapist (FL LMT MA16310) for over 18 years. Originally from the Chicago area, she moved to St. Pete in 1986. Her specialties are deep tissue, Lomi Lomi, Thai Yoga massage and Stress Therapy massage. She has traveled to Hawaii, the Bahamas, Mexico and various other places to study bodywork and allied modalities. She takes from her many years of experience and multitudes of classes to structure a massage based on your needs. Debbie is also a Certified Personal Trainer and Yoga Teacher. She believes that Integrative Systems, such as, Yoga, Massage and Personal Movement have been developed to guide us in this journey. An avid cyclist, Debbie travels around the country doing century and double century rides. She is a reluctant triathlete, cross fitter, occasional doughnut eater and is a USA Triathlon Official in her spare time.

Posted on July 10, 2011, in Training Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

